Robert Weiss is Chair Elect of the Section on Bayesian Statistics

On May 20th, Rob Weiss became Chair Elect of the Section on Bayesian Statistics by the ASA. He will take office on January 1, 2011.

Gang Li Elected Fellow of ASA

Congratulations to Gang Li, who was elected a fellow of the American Statistical Association. He will receive the award at the Joint Statistical Meeting in Vancouver August 2010.

Catherine Sugar Awarded Dean's Distinguished Teaching Award

Congratulations to Catherine Sugar, who was recently awarded the Dean's Distinguished Teaching Award.

Five Grad Students Receive SPH Awards

Five of our graduate students have received school of public health (SPH) awards, including Qing Yang who received the Celia and Joseph Blann Fellowship for academic excellence; Cory Zigler who won the Carolbeth Korn Prize for most outstanding graduating student; Heidi Fischer and Xuyang Lu who both received the Raymond D. Goodman Scholarship for outstanding continuing students; and Ying Zhou who received the Dean's Outstanding Student Award.

Adam King Receives Chancellor's Prize Award

Congratulations to Adam King, who received the Chancellor's Prize Award, 2009-10.

Jonathan Britt & Brian Calimlim Receives TA of the Year Award

Congratulations to Jonathan Britt and Brian Calimlim, who both received the School of Public Health "Distinguished Teaching Award" (a.k.a. "TA of the Year"), 2009-10.

Robin Jeffries Featured in Issue of UCLA SPH Magazine

Robin Jeffries was featured in the November 2009 issue of the UCLA School of Public Health magazine.